Thirteen

I asked the Siberian man about the bee and the old woman, and he said, “First we eat, then we digest. You haven’t even had the first course, you’ve just had some appetizer”.

And he asked me “How did your father see the world?”. That was a funny question, I hardly remember my father.
“what would you say about his relationship with reality?”
“well, nothing, he was a dreamer, I guess”
“Do you remember when your father took you fishing with him?”
“No, I don’t remember.”
“That’s because he didn’t”. Now I was puzzled. “your mother never let you go. you know why?”
“Guess she was worried, she can be very over-protective. On the other hand, she was always quite happy to dump me on someone whenever she considered I would be safe so that I was not nagging her. My father was dreamy and could be absent-minded, but he loved me very much, he would have taken care of me.”

“Have you wondered why your father hardly ever appears in your dreams or visions?” he asked.
“I guess because I felt guilty for letting him die, I froze and didn’t do a thing, I didn’t even cry out for help”
“Were you ever afraid of your father?”
“What do you mean, my father loved me.”
“Yes, he did, very much. Can you remember being afraid of him?”
“no. But he was starting to drink, I guess I might have found him strange when he was drunk… but I don’t remember.”
“Was he disturbed because he was drinking, or did he start drinking because he was losing it?”
“how could I know?”
“After your father died, your mother said that perhaps it was bettter this way”. “Yes, she said there was a man in one of the neighbouring villages who tried to commit suicide but he survived and then he terrorized his family”.
“He went mad because he tried to commit suicide?”
“no, I guess… I guess what she meant was… that he was going mad and his family would have been better off if he had died”.
“Why are you so ambivalent about your gift? your vision? You come, you run away, you come back and walk a bit further, then run away… this is not your father’s head, you know. whatever he started to see, and whatever you saw within him, whatever it was that scared both of you… (and now the Siberian man looked me in the eye and bent so close that I could feel his breath on my face, and said very slowly) you are not your father”.

One thought on “Thirteen

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Classical Astrologer

Ancient and Traditional Astrology

When Timber Makes One Still

"Everyone needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to the soul" -John Muir

Mundus Volubilis

Reality has no form, no walls, no edges - a journey in altered states of consciousness

The Art of Enchantment

Dr Sharon Blackie: writer, psychologist, mythologist

The Beauty Along the Road

Discovering Beauty in the small details of our lives

A collection determined by chance

A fine WordPress.com site

The Invisible Scar

raising awareness of emotional child abuse, its effects on adult survivors & the power of words on children

Vic DiCara's Astrology

Authentic Modern Astrology from the Ancient and Classical World

SAGITTARIAN MIND CONSULTING™

"ASTROLOGY FOR THE HIGHER MIND"

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

Lee Lehman's Astro Blog

Reality has no form, no walls, no edges - a journey in altered states of consciousness

Nina Gryphon

Your questions answered.

AstroAinslie

Reality has no form, no walls, no edges - a journey in altered states of consciousness

Kannon McAfee - the declinations guy

Herbalist, Astrologer | Portland, OR

Through a Jungian Lens

Blending Jungian Psychology and Photography

Dreaming the World

On the Arts and Healing in Difficult Times

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Compass Dreamwork

Dreamwork as Spiritual Practice

Free Association on the ego and the self

just another recalcitrant ego looking for peace

Outre monde

The Blog of Neel Burton - Psychiatrist, Philosopher, Writer, and Wine Lover

Loving Psychoanalysis

Exploring the continual becoming of a psychotherapist.

Anthony Louis - Astrology & Tarot Blog

Musings on astrology and tarot by author Anthony Louis

A. Venefica's Weblog: Symbolic Meanings

Devoted to Uncommon Symbolic Meanings and other Esoteric Topics

Sky Writer

Donna Cunningham's Blog on astrology, healing, and writing.

synchronicityjournaling

synchroncitiyjournaling.com site

The Robert Moss BLOG

Reality has no form, no walls, no edges - a journey in altered states of consciousness

