Thirty-Nine

I met the Siberian man in a sandy area, it could have been the steppe or the desert.

And he said: “There are seven elements, there’s earth, water, fire, air… then there’s lack..”

“Lack?”

“Yes, see how the lack of something has the power to shape an entire landscape? It’s not the earth, air or fire that makes the desert a desert but the lack of water. And it can dominate an entire life, too, no matter what else is present. The lack of trust, the lack of love…”

I stared at the sand at my feet.

“And then, there’s consciousness.”

“That makes six. Six elements. What is the seventh?”

The Siberian man looked at me, smiling mysteriously.

“You won’t tell me?”, I asked.

“That’s for later.”

Leave a Reply

