Fifty-One

It was almost night. At the edge of the forest, I saw a woman dressed in heavy fabric. On top of her head, there was something embellished with pearls, stones and gold. She was climbing a hill. A vast landscape below. Then, like a drawing on the sky, electric lines. She looked at me as if to check whether I noticed.

Suddenly, I was in the kitchen of my childhood home, at the threshold of the room where my father died. It was dark inside. I was small, standing right on the doorsill. Looking at the jambs around me, I noticed knives hanging from the top, suspended by a single, thin thread of rope attached to a nail in the middle, my height.

I noticed the Siberian man next to me, on the kitchen side. He was looking at me and I at him. Then the door turned into a wooden wheel, with the knives facing the middle, towards me. I was holding onto the axle. He told me to keep steady and started to roll the wheel, then let it go, down a slope. I was rolling and rolling…

I ended up in the parking lot of the factory nearby my childhood home. It was deserted, and my wooden wheel turned into that of a bicycle. Then, I was riding the bike, with my father behind me, pushing, helping.

Then we were surrounded by people holding hands around us in a circle. I saw a wolf and got frightened, but he settled near someone. Next came a bear. A gorilla sat behind yet another person. A falcon landed on the shoulder of the Siberian man. And there was the woman I saw at the start, dressed in golden bees. She was luminous.

My father walked to them. Joined them for a second, holding hands, then closed the circle and walked away. Left alone with these people, I was in the middle of the circle, with one foot on the ground and one on the pedal of my bike.

Then the ground opened, and a shapeless form condensed into something like a hand. I wondered whether it was a mole… I decided to follow it, the shape was about my size and constantly changing but never crystallizing into anything concrete.

It was dark in the tunnel, and it smelt of soil. After a few steps, it was not that dark anymore, as if there was some light filtering in after me. I turned back and saw the woman dressed in golden bees following me. And so were all the others.

We kept going and going, tagging after the form through long, dark tunnels.

Suddenly, I was in my childhood kitchen again, just closing the door to the room where my father was sleeping. But then I decided to open it and went into the room. It was dark inside. The light from the kitchen filtered in and I stared at the patterns on the carpet. I almost bumped into the coffee table in the middle of the room. I gripped the top of the large chest with the tv on it to settle myself, and noticed that I had no sensation in my hands. Not even as if I had gloves on. Nor was the carpet soft under my feet. I could see my hands and feet but they could have belonged to someone else, I could not feel them. I couldn’t hear anything, either. Not my father snoring or breathing… not my own steps… not the noises outside… I was numb and deaf. I was eyes, only.

****

Note: the wheel reminds me of Nicholas of Flüe‘s:

von flue wheel

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Classical Astrologer

Ancient and Traditional Astrology

When Timber Makes One Still

"Everyone needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to the soul" -John Muir

Mundus Volubilis

Reality has no form, no walls, no edges - a journey in altered states of consciousness

The Art of Enchantment

Dr Sharon Blackie: writer, psychologist, mythologist

The Beauty Along the Road

Discovering Beauty in the small details of our lives

A collection determined by chance

A fine WordPress.com site

The Invisible Scar

raising awareness of emotional child abuse, its effects on adult survivors & the power of words on children

Vic DiCara's Astrology

Authentic Modern Astrology from the Ancient and Classical World

SAGITTARIAN MIND CONSULTING™

"ASTROLOGY FOR THE HIGHER MIND"

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

Lee Lehman's Astro Blog

Reality has no form, no walls, no edges - a journey in altered states of consciousness

Nina Gryphon

Your questions answered.

AstroAinslie

Reality has no form, no walls, no edges - a journey in altered states of consciousness

Kannon McAfee - the declinations guy

Herbalist, Astrologer | Portland, OR

Through a Jungian Lens

Blending Jungian Psychology and Photography

Dreaming the World

On the Arts and Healing in Difficult Times

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Compass Dreamwork

Dreamwork as Spiritual Practice

Free Association on the ego and the self

just another recalcitrant ego looking for peace

Outre monde

The Blog of Neel Burton - Psychiatrist, Philosopher, Writer, and Wine Lover

Loving Psychoanalysis

Exploring the continual becoming of a psychotherapist.

Anthony Louis - Astrology & Tarot Blog

Musings on astrology and tarot by author Anthony Louis

A. Venefica's Weblog: Symbolic Meanings

Devoted to Uncommon Symbolic Meanings and other Esoteric Topics

Sky Writer

Donna Cunningham's Blog on astrology, healing, and writing.

synchronicityjournaling

synchroncitiyjournaling.com site

The Robert Moss BLOG

Reality has no form, no walls, no edges - a journey in altered states of consciousness

